top of page
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Types of Love Explained by Experts

Love is a complex and multi-faceted emotion that has been studied and discussed by experts for centuries. In fact, the ancient Greeks had a comprehensive system for categorizing the different types of love that humans experience. In this blog post, we will explore these eight types of love and how they can manifest in our relationships.


Agape is the highest form of love and is characterized by unconditional, selfless, and spiritual affection. It is the type of love that is often associated with the divine and is focused on benevolence and compassion for all of humanity and nature. Agape is not based on physical attraction or emotions, but rather a deep sense of interconnectedness and concern for the well-being of all.


Eros is the passionate and romantic love that is often portrayed in movies and books. It is characterized by physical attraction and desire, and it can make your heart race and your palms sweat when you are around the person you are attracted to. Eros is exciting and exhilarating, but it can also be unstable if it is not balanced with other types of love.


Philia is the affectionate and platonic love that we have for our friends and family. It is based on mutual respect, loyalty, and shared values. Philia makes us feel comfortable and supported by our social circle.


Storge is the familial and protective love that we have for our parents, children, and siblings. It is based on a natural bond, instinct, and duty. Storge makes us care for and defend our kin.


Ludus is the playful and flirtatious love that involves teasing, joking, and having fun with our partner. It is based on a sense of humor, adventure, and spontaneity. Ludus makes us laugh and enjoy life with our partner.


Pragma is the practical and rational love that involves compromise, cooperation, and long-term planning with our partner. It is based on common goals, compatibility, and mutual benefit. Pragma is about working as a team and grow together.


Philautia is the self-love that involves respect, confidence, and acceptance of ourselves. It is based on a healthy balance between self-esteem and humility. Philautia helps us appreciate our strengths and work on our weaknesses.


Mania love is the obsessive and possessive love that involves jealousy, insecurity, and dependency on our partner. It is based on a lack of self-love, trust, and boundaries. Mania makes us suffer and lose ourselves in our relationship.

In conclusion, each type of love has its own characteristics, benefits, and challenges. The key to a happy and fulfilling relationship is to find a balance between them, depending on our personality, preferences, and situation. We can also experience different types of love with different people at different times in our lives. Understanding these different types of love can help us cultivate healthy and meaningful relationships with others and ourselves.


bottom of page